I finally became a grown up academic a couple weeks ago and spoke at my very first conference. It was terrifying and I loved it.

As I possibly mentioned in the last post (which was a while ago – as you’ll see, I’ve been busy), I was scheduled to speak at a couple conferences in the middle of March. Unfortunately, one of them fell through (by which I mean ‘I had to cancel because my laptop and notes and wallet were stolen’), but I did speak at the University of Southampton’s annual postgrad conference and it went pretty well. I gave a talk on interpretations of the adulterous relationship between John of Gaunt and his mistress Katherine Swynford, which basically is my dream topic. 

Some thoughts, in list form:
1. Giving your first talk at your home institution is the way to go. I was nervous about some things (see below), but    things I wasn’t nervous about included: where the room was, what the facilities were like, who was going to be in the audience. I knew the building and room, I was very familiar with the smallish screen (and adjusted my PowerPoint accordingly), and my friends were there (thanks, guys!). Probably it would be much the same giving a talk in your hometown - no need to panic about where to go - or at an institution you knew well.

2.The downside to giving a talk at your home institution? Knowing people in the audience creates extra pressure – you know who’s there and (especially if they’re faculty members/your lecturers) you want to make them proud. This is something to consider. My Latin lecturer from my MA year actually rearranged a lesson so that she and my friends could come. It was incredibly kind and very flattering – and also significantly added to the pressure.
Picture
My poster! Isn't it gorgeous?
3. Nerves happen. You can plan for them all you want, but they'll still happen. I don’t particularly mind public speaking once I get going, but the idea of it and the waiting for it are awful. I planned for it a little, practicing my talk multiple times, timing myself, trying to use my nerves to pump myself up (like athletes do, right? Maybe?). But some things I didn’t anticipate – like when I stood up to speak and realized if my hands shook everyone would be able to tell, because the paper my notes were written on would be flapping all over. Fortunately, I was on the committee for this conference, so I couldn’t sit around in the morning feeling nervous because I had to do things.

4. I was lucky that I was a last-minute replacement speaker. The theme for the panel (‘Deviant Identities’) had already been decided, so I got to work my presentation around it. And I was speaking on a topic that I (a) really really enjoy, and (b) know really well, since it formed a large part of my MA dissertation. The confidence that came from knowing that I’d already received positive feedback on my ideas and that I definitely knew more about the topic than anyone in the room (maybe anyone anywhere) was key.
 

5. Do what you need to do to feel confident. My partner and I bought new clothes, and I bought new nail polish. Was it shallow? Yes. Did I feel better, knowing that, whatever else happened, I at least looked good? Yes. It's about setting yourself up for success.

6. If you're invited (in my case, it was required) to do a poster, do it. Especially if it's being paid for. It's such good practice for thinking about how to 'sell' your work and considering what the really essential elements of your research might be. At the end of the day, you have a poster to display. Also, it's kind of like being in grade school again, only this time it also counts as professional development.

6. Don’t leave your laptop unattended. Just don’t. But do go to the wine reception. 

Barb Morris
29/3/2013 08:56:33 am

Proud of you!

Reply



Leave a Reply.